Main Content

Chair’s Message

The Department of Political Science is committed to being an inclusive, diverse, supportive, dynamic, and productive community of students and teacher-scholars. We are dedicated to excellence in undergraduate education through teaching, learning, research and engagement, and to the formation of intellectually deep, civically engaged, globally aware, and ethically minded individuals. Our department values academic excellence, learning and discovery, the pursuit of truth and knowledge, the pursuit of justice, social and political responsibility, and the principles of diversity, equity, and inclusion. We offer a wide range of classes and co-curricular programs that emphasize engaged and dynamic learning that will help our students foster civil discourse and respect for heterogeneous perspectives. In addition, our faculty are all active scholars, producing research across a broad range of topics that further the study of politics and society.

The goal is for our students to develop independent, analytical, creative and critical thinking skills as well as effective communication skills in a variety of mediums. Our graduates have gone on to study at top law and graduate schools, and have found employment in a wide range of fields and industries across the globe.   In the constantly changing global economy, we want our students to feel prepared and have the best training possible in order to be successful in their future endeavors.

We invite you to explore the field of political science with us and to develop the skill sets that will spark a sense of intellectual curiosity, prepare you for your future careers, and help you develop into informed and active leaders in the global community. Horned frogs Lead On!

Carrie Liu Currier, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Political Science